Wanted: Lake Sammamish Cutthroat and Kokanee Reports

Talk all about trout here.
Forum rules
Forum Post Guidelines: This Forum is rated “Family Friendly”. Civil discussions are encouraged and welcomed. Name calling, negative, harassing, or threatening comments will be removed and may result in suspension or IP Ban without notice. Please refer to the Terms of Service and Forum Guidelines post for more information. Thank you
sebastes
Petty Officer

Wanted: Lake Sammamish Cutthroat and Kokanee Reports

Post by sebastes » Mon May 22, 2017 9:00 am

Hello All,
My name is David Kyle and I am a Project Manager for Trout Unlimited working on the restoration and recovery of Lake Sammamish kokanee. As you may know, the kokanee populations in the Lake Washington/ Sammamish watershed are in severe decline and the fishery was closed in the mid-1980’s. I am working with a group called the Lake Sammamish Kokanee Working Group (KWG) with the goal of bringing the kokanee population back to a sustainable population that we will be able to fish for in the future.

Part of my job is gathering information about the fish in the lake to fill knowledge gaps for the recovery team. We believe that the fish population structure has shifted from a kokanee dominated system to a cutthroat and other predator system. I have been conducting angler interviews at the Lake Sammamish State Park to discern what fish species people are catching, how many fish did they catch, what depth were the fish caught, what general location were you fishing, any kokanee bycatch, fish condition (skinny, fat, sores, parasites), and any other observations of note. Although this information is anecdotal, it does help develop an idea of what’s happening in the lake.

Interviewing people at the lake can be very inefficient so I wanted to ask anyone on this board who is fishing Lake Sammamish and is willing to share information on your trip, I would love to hear about it. I can be reached via email at [email protected]