Stocked Trout Fishing

Lake fishing topics and discussions belong in this forum. Please, don't post reports in the forum.
Forum rules
Forum Post Guidelines: This Forum is rated “Family Friendly”. Civil discussions are encouraged and welcomed. Name calling, negative, harassing, or threatening comments will be removed and may result in suspension or IP Ban without notice. Please refer to the Terms of Service and Forum Guidelines post for more information.
tyson91
Angler

Stocked Trout Fishing

Post by tyson91 » Sat May 04, 2019 2:50 pm

Hey everyone, I'm very new to fishing. I am trying so hard to learn everything on my own as I have had the urge to venture out and try it myself. I have done so much research on figuring out the equipment and techniques to use but I still can't seem to get the hang of it. I have been out fishing for the past 3 days and only got one bite and the fish ran off with my hook and bait.

I have a local lake that is stocked with rainbow trout and I am fishing from the shore. I have a Ugly Stix Shakespeare GX2 Combo that is 6 ft 6 in and it is classified as a medium rod with a 6-15 lb capacity. Using the same reel it came with when I bought it.

I was initially using a Carolina rig with a 1/2 oz egg sinker, red glass bead, size 7 barrel swivel, 2-3 ft of leader line and size 8 hook. I was using Trilene XL 6lb mono for main line and Maxima ultra green 2lb mono for leader. I only got one bite after fishing for two days and it ran away with my hook and bait.

Today, I changed out my main line and leader. I am now using Segaur Invizx 6lb fluorocarbon for main line and Seguar Red Label 4lb fluorocarbon for leader line. No bites today.

For bait, I have tried Powerbait rainbow, Powerbait Garlic scent, Power eggs Chartruese, and Pautzke Salmon Egg Green Label.

I honestly don't know if my equipment is the problem or if my setup isn't right. I really need some help. If anyone would suggest what I may be doing wrong or have any tips, please let me know.