Sturgeon help? (hanford reach)

Lake fishing topics and discussions belong in this forum. Please, don't post reports in the forum.
Forum rules
Forum Post Guidelines: This Forum is rated “Family Friendly”. Civil discussions are encouraged and welcomed. Name calling, negative, harassing, or threatening comments will be removed and may result in suspension or IP Ban without notice. Please refer to the Terms of Service and Forum Guidelines post for more information.
beerman1981
Commander

Sturgeon help? (hanford reach)

Post by beerman1981 » Tue Sep 23, 2008 5:45 pm

I am a complete rookie to sturgeon fishing, and discovered that there is an incredible sturgeon fishery less than fifty miles from my house (The hanford reach of the Columbia). I purchased a "fish n' map" of the section and have pin pointed all of the major holes on this stretch of river (King hole, Lava Hole, powerline hole, K and N reactor hole, etc). The biggest problem is the obvious, I don't have a boat. This means, I am going to be attempting this from shore!!!!! I was planning on targeting "King Hole," which is about a half mile west of the Vernita bridge. I have done a little research, and I think I have the basics for attempting this feat. I have a very long rod that I purchased for surf fishing, accompanied by a very heavy duty Okuma saltwater real. I also have four ounce slip weights that I plan to use to get my line out.

I know that sturgeon fishing from the bank is a possible feat because a 'friend of a friend' fishes this stretch of the Columbia religiously during the summer (from the bank) and is quite successfull. I have seen pictures before though, and they are quite impressive.

I have found that baits such as cut up salmon, smelt, fresh shad and shrimp are all very good baits, and that fresher is better. I was planning on gearing up with about 30-40 pound test, and with the large weights, I think I will be able to get into the King Hole fairly easy.