New Smoker

Discuss your favorite recipes and fish eating ways...
Lingking
Petty Officer

New Smoker

Post by Lingking » Mon Aug 17, 2015 2:52 pm

My amazing and beautiful wife gave me a Masterbuilt digital smoker for my birthday this weekend . I have been using a Little Chief for 25 years and it has just worn out. I did a batch in the new smoker this weekend (Chinook, Sockeye, Laker and humpie) ...... basically cleaned out the freezer. I think I cooked to high, the fish developed white stuff on the surface. I was always told this was protein that has been cooked out of the meat and it was too hot. I was at 165deg . what have you found your preferred temp to be. Anyone have this smoker that can give me some tips?

primetime
Commander

Re: New Smoker

Post by primetime » Mon Aug 17, 2015 3:47 pm

Actually it sounds like you had too much fish in the smoker. There should be enough space so the smoke can penetrate all the way through.

Lingking
Petty Officer

Post by Lingking » Mon Aug 17, 2015 5:12 pm

Had plenty of room. only used 3 of the 4 racks.

gfakkema
Commander

Post by gfakkema » Mon Aug 17, 2015 5:29 pm

Last edited by gfakkema on Wed Aug 19, 2015 11:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Founding member of P.I.N.K. (Pink Idiots Need Killing), for the prevention of IDIOT pink salmon "anglers" everywhere!

hewesbob
Lieutenant

Post by hewesbob » Tue Aug 18, 2015 6:56 am