Downriggers and Shakers

Have questions about Saltwater areas, boats, gear or techniques? This is the place for them.
Forum rules
Forum Post Guidelines: This Forum is rated “Family Friendly”. Civil discussions are encouraged and welcomed. Name calling, negative, harassing, or threatening comments will be removed and may result in suspension or IP Ban without notice. Please refer to the Terms of Service and Forum Guidelines post for more information. Thank you
obrien73
Angler

Downriggers and Shakers

Post by obrien73 » Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:50 pm

I am new to using downriggers and could use some advice. We have been catching a lot of shakers this year and it has me wondering if I am doing something wrong.

Trolling speed has been between 3 and 4 MPH
We have been starting in about 80' of water and moving out as the day progresses.
Cable length has depended on bait and time of day, but generally speaking we run no less than 40' of cable and no more than 80'.

Curious if there are any strategies or solutions or if it is just a luck of the draw thing.

The Quadfather
Rear Admiral One Star

Re: Downriggers and Shakers

Post by The Quadfather » Mon Sep 24, 2018 1:15 pm

I am assuming you are talking about fishing Coho? Shakers just come with territory. Just realize you need to check your gear regularly. If I am noticing a lot of shakers, then I am SUPER attentive to watching the rod tip vibration. Another words, if I see my normal rhythm on the tip, and at some point notice a slightly changed/uneven rhythm.... then that is time that I make a gear check.

That shaker gets one hit on your rig, and then only a short bit of head shakes before it is dead... and if you miss that little show of activity, then you are dragging a dead shaker and not actually fishing.
Some days it is a lot of shakers, other days less.

Guitarfish
Petty Officer

Post by Guitarfish » Mon Sep 24, 2018 3:52 pm