Rod question

A place for readers to talk about river fishing in Washington.
Forum rules
Forum Post Guidelines: This Forum is rated “Family Friendly”. Civil discussions are encouraged and welcomed. Name calling, negative, harassing, or threatening comments will be removed and may result in suspension or IP Ban without notice. Please refer to the Terms of Service and Forum Guidelines post for more information. Thank you
Latnem
Angler

Rod question

Post by Latnem » Sat Nov 25, 2017 9:29 am

Im new to river fishing, I was given a new lamiglass certified pro x 90 hc rod. I was wondering if this rod is mainly a trolling rod or is it suitable rod to be used for bank fishing on a river.

Onmygame
Lieutenant

Re: Rod question

Post by Onmygame » Sun Nov 26, 2017 1:57 am

Your HC (which stands for Heavy Casting) is a heavy power, fast action casting rod in a 9' length.

You will want to pair it with a decent baitcasting reel as the strip guide (lower most) on your rod is designed for one.

onmygame

Latnem
Angler

Post by Latnem » Sun Nov 26, 2017 11:09 am

Thanks. Do you know if this rod is just for trolling or can it be used for bank fishing?

jonb
Commander

Post by jonb » Mon Nov 27, 2017 7:17 pm

Not good for trolling. Good for plunking/barfishing, or good for vertical jigging for lingcod, and chinook from a boat in the salt.

Too long to twitch jigs, too heavy to swing spoons, too short and fast to be great for floatfishing, too fast action to troll. Can you do all these things? Yeah probably, but certainly not ideal.
hi my name is john, and I'm a fishing addict.

Latnem
Angler

Post by Latnem » Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:56 pm

Thank you for answering my question!

Latnem
Angler

Post by Latnem » Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:34 pm

I picked up a lamiglas rouge river special with reel for 50 dollars. It's a 8'6" medium heavy casting rod. I fear this rod may not be what I'm looking for to bank fish with.

jonb
Commander

Post by jonb » Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:17 pm